A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed only if a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals may check out its content. This option can be used for the primary folder of a specific Internet site or only for a specific subfolder depending on your requirements. As an illustration, when you are creating a new Internet site and you do not want people to see it before it is completely ready, you should prohibit the access to it altogether, while if you would like only some people to be able to access specific files, you could password-protect only a specific folder, while the rest of the website may be seen by anybody. Regardless, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in the event that the login details the visitor types in are not accurate. Even a direct link to a file shall not work given that any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Hosting

All our hosting plans feature a very handy tool which will permit you to shield any folder within your account from unauthorized access with only two clicks. When you log in to your Hepsia web hosting Control Panel, you will simply have to navigate to the Password Protection section, to select the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder that should be protected - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to type the username and the password which should be used so as to access the content in question. The function shall be activated immediately, so in case you try to open the folder/website, you shall be prompted to type in the login credentials. You can create or remove numerous usernames for the exact same folder, when necessary. If you navigate to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders will be indicated by a tiny padlock icon.